#50 New Years Day with Banksy, IDEO, and Aluminum Coke Bottles

There are days when I say “I’m not going to do anything today.” Today, January 1, 2011 was one of those days. The great thing about “not doing anything days” is it gives me time to discover and rediscover all sorts of glorious things. Here’s a list of my day of discovery.

1. While searching for mini-glass coke bottles for a party, I discovered the very cool 8.5oz. alumimun Coke bottles instead. I’m happy about that because the novelty of little cokes bottles remains, with an added bonus of newness, and now when we clean up after the party, the recycling will be much lighter. Score.

2. I watched “Objectified” a documentary featuring industrial designers, among them were founders of IDEO, the company I’m obsessed with. Bill Moggeridge had the best quote, “I like the idea of wearing something in, rather than wearing something out.” I agree Mr. Moggeridge. Whenever I get a scratch on something, or say crack my iPhone, I think of how well-loved something like an old butcher block is. Every nick and scratch represents a person’s mark on the world. It makes me sort of proud that I use all my stuff, it’s not “just for show.”

3. As much as I love IDEO, the real prize of the day was Banksy’s film “Exit Through the Gift Shop.” This guy, dang. This film shows that Banksy is pure genius, not just with his street art, but he understand his role in the world, and everyone else’s. The mark of a real creative strategist. But even he can’t forsee what implications his actions might have when he encourages a friend who is not an artist to hold an art show. The result is the guy, Thierry, goes all out and his show is successful, but the meaning of his success is where the question is. As is the purpose of art, the movie makes us question, What is success? Does success need to be meaningful? Does art? I don’t know but the documentary is almost disturbing to my mental state, similar to how I felt after “Vanilla Sky.” What’s real? What matters? I won’t stop thinking about this for a long time.

4. I also did a bit of Face Training with Paul Ekman’s software. He’s the man that is the inspiration for the TV show “Lie to Me.” Those micro-expressions are disturing, but quite intriguing.

