#47 From Groundswell’s Social Media to Bear Grit to Wikia for Solar Cooking

Taking a working vacation this week before MBA school starts up again. Typical way my brain works from 8 am to 9 am. And I haven’t had my coffee yet.

Groundswell: Cracked open the social media book Groundswell and checked out some chapters that referred to using wiki’s for internal project management. Note to self: 1) that’s cool I gotta check that out for Net Impact Conference planning and 2) how is FMYI different or better?

Bear Grit: After getting a drink of water I decided to ruminate about the wiki sites and moved on. Last night, we went to see the new Coen Brothers movie, True Grit, a re-adaption from the 1969 novel. Since then I couldn’t stop thinking about the “Bear Man” character. Who was he? Where did he come from? In about 10 minutes of searching I didn’t find much really interesting except, my search happened to lead me to Wikia powered True Grit site. There was a tab to “start your own wiki”. Huh.

Bear Man from True Grit (2010)

My/our own wiki? Should I/we? What for? Is this how Julian Assange started WikiLeaks?

Wikia: The suggestion for wikis included one that said something like “there’s even a wiki about solar cooking.” Since my focus is on sustainable business, and I’m all about optimizing existing resources and Things That Work To Solve Problems, this was interesting to me.

Now I’m thinking how fun it would be to have a solar picnic. In the meantime, I need to get back to whether I suggest we should be using a wiki for strategic planning projects.

