#8 Movies Are Carbon Hogs. But I Love Them.

One of the projects I am working on this week is related to Industrial Ecology. The idea is to assess and discuss the life cycle analysis of two items that I personally own. I chose two favorites.

1. A book
2. A movie

Everyone knows cars are “bad” right. But I have a bike, I can live without a car. Movies + books I cannot live without. So what are the the environmental effects of making these two things I can’t live without? This blog will be about the implications movie production and global warming. We’ll worry about books some other time.

Movies are carbon hogs. They provide immeasurable cultural value but producing a movie requires airplane rides, tons of materials to build sets, and lots of energy usage. These all contribute in some way to global warming.

Movie star Eric Bana has pushed for his new movie about race cars to be carbon neutral. http://uk.reuters.com/article/idUKIndia-38094420090219

Which brings me to the the point that right now, green branding is product-focused. But the carbon-neutral niche could be a great marketing-branding opportunity for a movie studio. Actually, this strategy could also work for many service-based consumer-facing companies.

This drawing is off the cast of Tropic Thunder. I thought of it because a jungle was burned down and a panda was killed, well during the movie. Probably not in real life. http://picklelova.deviantart.com/art/Moar-Tropic-Thunder-Get-Some-96809651

